Skip navigation

[Wow, I actually need to find something to write about. ZG has been busy with a thesis and I’ve been rather lazy and haven’t watched anything important lately. Supposedly he will update later this week. Don’t expect something.]

Anyhow, today/this week’s topic is a bit of a rant, but I’ll try to keep it on the satisfied/review side. As anyone who knows me will tell you, I’m a bit of an anime hipster. So nothing gets my goat so much as when my favorite studio ever, SHAFT, pulls something so mainstream and unSHAFTlike as Madoka that it makes me cry and rewatch Zoku.

Now granted, I have nothing too scathing to say about Madoka. I dropped it about four episodes in, because it’s not what I scan chartfag’s charts for ‘SHAFT’ to find every season. The first anime I ever watched, somehow, was Sayonara, Zetsubou-sensei, and the combination of wacky humor, offbeat animation, and pop-culture references that I, as a newly-formed weeaboo, failed to understand was what made me fall in love with the show. To be honest, I can’t remember what the next SHAFT show I watched was, although it may have been Bakemonogatari (which I consider the best show SHAFT has done to date, but that’s a topic for later), but they all got watched at some point or another.

Then along came Vampire Bund, and to be honest, I didn’t realize it was SHAFT at all until I actually started paying attention to the credits instead of the spinning loli vampire during the opening. It was the same as Nanoha (which, for the benefit of all of you fans out there, was actually a decent show). And Madoka Magica seems to have gone down the same path; despite the fact that the animation of the “Witches” was suitably strange, the remainder of the four episodes I watched was rather lackluster compared to the remainder of SHAFT’s works. Oh, and even KyoAni can do strange animation:

20110509-090313.jpg

(No, I won’t stop about Nichijou; why do you ask?) Now I’m not saying that SHAFT is not talented enough to do anything other than its gag-manga adaptations which it is so well known for. Bakemonogatari is proof of that. I just feel that SHAFT is wasting their time over OMG-it’s-Urobuchi-Gen-the-plot-must-be-good stuff, rather than making another season of Tsukuyomi making great shows like Arakawa.

Oh well. At least we have more MariaHolic and this random Denpa Onna stuff.

And, as wah reminds us: Shinbo doesn’t care.

See you next week,
—Actorclavilis

One Comment

  1. I’ll get to writing fun papers when I’m done doing not so fun ones. Steins;Gate might get in the way though.


Leave a Reply

